Front sheet · Analysis · The Company
The Company
The First Bancshares merger, in the documents
A merger leaves a trail with dates on it. This piece follows one closing through the release that announced it and the registers that logged it, and stops where those documents stop.
The document that says it closed
A merger becomes a fact on a particular day, and somewhere there is a piece of paper that says so. For this one the paper is a release filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission and datelined from Tupelo: “TUPELO, Miss., (April 1, 2025)”. The body of it states that the company “has completed its merger with The First Bancshares, Inc. … effective April 1, 2025”. [1]
FORM 8-K · 1 APR 2025 · ex991_mergerclosing.htm · sec.gov
That single sentence does two separate jobs. It fixes a date — April 1, 2025 — and it fixes a direction: the acquired company is The First Bancshares, Inc., and the announcing company is the one that keeps filing afterward. Everything else in this piece is either a second record of that same day or a later document that shows the day’s effects. The release is read here at its own address on EDGAR, not in any reprint of it.
What the release states, and in what tense
The release describes the combined company as operating “more than 280 banking, lending, mortgage, and wealth management offices throughout the Southeast”, with “assets of approximately $26 billion”. Both figures are the company’s own description on the day of closing. They are quoted here as the release’s statement about that date, and not as a current count of anything.
FORM 8-K · 1 APR 2025 · ex991_mergerclosing.htm · sec.gov
The release also looks forward, and the tense is the point. It states that “full conversion and integration of The First’s operations into Renasant’s is expected to be completed in early August 2025”. That is an expectation, written as one. No document read for this piece records that the conversion took place, in early August 2025 or at any other time, and this page therefore does not say that it did. The sentence quoted above is the whole of what is known from the sources here: that the company expected it, and when.
FORM 8-K · 1 APR 2025 · ex991_mergerclosing.htm · sec.gov
This is the single most common place where a document turns into a claim it never made. A plan reported in April becomes, three paragraphs later in somebody’s summary, an event in August. The distance between “is expected to be completed” and “was completed” is one verb, and no register consulted here closes it.
Closing day as the structure register saw it
The FDIC keeps a separate record of what happens to a charter, event by event, each with its own effective date. Against certificate 12437 on April 1, 2025 it logs one merger participation, recorded in the register’s own spelling as “Participated in Absorbtion/Consolidation/Merger”. [2]
FDIC STRUCTURE REGISTER · EFFECTIVE 1 APR 2025 · CERT 12437 · api.fdic.gov
The same day carries a second and much larger set of entries. The register logs 117 branches acquired through merger, under the change code “Branch Acquired in Merger/Consolidation/Failure”, and six branch closings on that same date. The 117 were counted from the register’s own response rather than taken from any summary of it.
FDIC STRUCTURE REGISTER · EFFECTIVE 1 APR 2025 · CERT 12437 · api.fdic.gov
So one event in the press release corresponds to 124 rows in the register: one participation, 117 acquisitions and six closings. This is what the second document adds that the first could not. The release says a merger completed; the register says what the charter absorbed, office by office, on the day it completed.
FDIC STRUCTURE REGISTER · EFFECTIVE 1 APR 2025 · CERT 12437 · api.fdic.gov
The two records are also useful as a check on each other, and that is why both are read here rather than one. They are produced by different bodies for different purposes and on different schedules: a company describing its own transaction, and a supervisor recording a change against a charter it keeps a file on. They agree on the date. Where a claim about a merger can be confirmed twice from records that do not share a source, the date is not really in question any more, and the remaining work is to be careful about everything the two records do not jointly say.
The tail, through the rest of 2025
Branch records did not stop on closing day. The structure register is a running file rather than a snapshot, and it continues to accumulate rows against the same certificate long after the event that produced most of them. The register logs further closings across 2025, among them five with an effective date of August 1, 2025.
FDIC STRUCTURE REGISTER · EFFECTIVE 1 AUG 2025 · CERT 12437 · api.fdic.gov
Two facts now sit near each other in time, and they must not be welded together. The release expected conversion in early August 2025. The register logs five closings effective August 1, 2025. The register does not record a conversion, does not record a reason for any closing, and does not link the two. Anyone reading this page has both dates and can see how close they are; this publication declines to turn that proximity into a causal sentence, because no document read for it makes one.
The trail, in order
| Date | What is recorded | Document that records it |
|---|---|---|
| April 1, 2025 | The merger with The First Bancshares, Inc. is announced as completed, effective that day, from Tupelo, Mississippi. | Closing release filed on EDGAR, ex991_mergerclosing.htm |
| April 1, 2025 | One merger participation logged against the charter. | FDIC structure register, CERT 12437 |
| April 1, 2025 | 117 branches acquired in merger, and six branch closings, on the one date. | FDIC structure register, CERT 12437 |
| Early August 2025 | Full conversion and integration expected — stated in the release as an expectation, and not recorded as an event in any register read here. | Closing release filed on EDGAR, ex991_mergerclosing.htm |
| August 1, 2025 | Five branch closings effective that day, with no reason recorded. | FDIC structure register, CERT 12437 |
| September 30, 2025 | Holding-company assets of $26,726,165,000 at the first quarter end after closing. | SEC XBRL company concept, us-gaap:Assets |
| December 31, 2025 | Two statutory trusts still carrying the acquired company’s name appear in the annual list of subsidiaries. | Form 10-K exhibit 21, rnst12312025ex21_subsidiar.htm |
FORM 8-K · sec.gov — FDIC STRUCTURE REGISTER · api.fdic.gov — SEC XBRL · data.sec.gov — FORM 10-K EXHIBIT 21 · sec.gov
What survived in the subsidiary list
Nine months after closing, the acquired company’s name is still in the annual filing. Exhibit 21 to the annual report for the year ended December 31, 2025 lists “The First Bancshares Statutory Trust II – Delaware” and “The First Bancshares Statutory Trust III – Delaware” among the subsidiaries of the holding company. [3]
FORM 10-K EXHIBIT 21 · FY 2025 · rnst12312025ex21_subsidiar.htm · sec.gov
An exhibit that lists a name and a jurisdiction per line is the last surviving trace of a company in a public filing, and it outlasts the signage. What those entities do is not stated in the exhibit and is not stated here. The wider list they belong to is described in the piece on how the corporation is organized.
The first quarter end after closing
The merger closed on the first day of a quarter, which makes the following quarter end a clean place to read a total. At September 30, 2025 the holding company’s tagged data reports assets of $26,726,165,000. [4]
SEC XBRL · us-gaap:Assets · 30 SEP 2025 · CIK 0000715072 · data.sec.gov
That is a holding-company figure, and it is not the same measurement as the bank-level total kept in the FDIC register. The release’s “approximately $26 billion” on closing day and this tagged figure at the end of September are two statements from two documents about two dates; neither is offered here as a trend, a growth rate or a comparison, and no arithmetic has been performed on them.
What the documents do not say
Four gaps are deliberate. No figure for the value of the transaction appears on this page, because no primary document stating one was read, and trade-press numbers are not treated as sources by this publication. No shareholder vote is described, because no proxy statement or vote result was read. No approval is described or attributed to any agency, because no approval order was read; the statutory rule about which agency answers which kind of application is set out separately in how a bank merger is approved, and it is a rule, not a record of this transaction.
The fourth gap is the reason behind any branch closing. The register has a field for the change and a field for the date, and none for the motive. A closing on a particular day is a fact; why it happened is not in the file, and a sentence that supplies it would be invention with a citation stapled to it.
What remains, after those four subtractions, is still a complete short history: an effective date confirmed twice from two independent records, a count of what moved onto the charter that day, a dated tail of later changes, an expectation clearly marked as one, and two later filings that each show one consequence. Every one of those lines can be re-opened at its own address. The dated events are also listed in the record, and every document cited anywhere on this site is gathered in the source register.
Sources
- Renasant Corporation, release announcing completion of the merger with The First Bancshares, Inc., filed on EDGAR. ex991_mergerclosing.htm sec.gov
- FDIC BankFind, structure-change register, certificate 12437. CERT 12437 api.fdic.gov
- Exhibit 21, subsidiaries of the registrant, to the annual report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025. rnst12312025ex21_subsidiar.htm sec.gov
- SEC XBRL company concept, us-gaap:Assets. CIK 0000715072 data.sec.gov
Charterbend does not provide investment advice. It does not rate, recommend or value any security or institution, and nothing here is an offer or a solicitation to buy or sell anything.